How to block a user?
From time to time, you may encounter a visitor who does not have nice things to say or is spamming your chats and not allowing your team to assist the people on your site best. For this reason, we have made it possible to block users based on their IP address.
Two important notes: Currently, we only allow blocking users based on IP addresses, and blocking is available on every plan.
You can block a user in three easy steps:
- From a conversation, open the "Conversation Details" right sidebar
- From there, click on the ellipsis (...) to the right of "Send chat transcript."
- Select "Block User"
- Then, confirm that you wish to block that user
One note is careful about who you block because you could accidentally block a teammate, but not fear as you can fix it by doing the same steps.
In our New Conversation View and our Desktop App, simply type /block into the composer bar to block a user.
Now your question may be, how does this look on my end?
Once you block a user, a customer tag will be added automatically to the user labeled [Blocked], so you can create a filter of everyone who you blocked. You should also be able to view it from within your Inbox and Conversations view as a Tag.
Most importantly, in this, their messages will not come through.
As soon as a user is blocked, they will no longer be able to send you messages through Drift. However, they will still see the Drift widget, but if they try to send a message, it will not go through. Instead, it will always appear to be "Sending..."
Please note that blocked users will not usually realize they are blocked because they can still see the Drift Widget and Playbooks. They won't be able to send messages either successfully.
If you would like to hide all playbooks or the widget from appearing at all, then you can add the IP as a display condition for the widget or playbook in Targeting.
The Blocked tag will only show when you filter contacts if you had their email. Otherwise, you can't filter Site Visitors into Contact segments because they were never actually contacts.
Let's cover how to unblock once more, just in case. :)
You can unblock a contact at any time by following the same steps as blocking them - the option will now be to unblock visitors.
It's also important to note that some regions of the world have a limited number of IP addresses, so blocking one IP address can block more than the one intended.
Have more questions about blocking? Let us know below, and we would be happy to help!