How do I exclude my company from seeing Drift?
Let's say that you do not want your employees to see the chatbot every time they go to your website, so what we need to do is exclude them. We accomplish this by blocking your company's IP address, which will cause the following two things to occur:
1) Colleagues won't show up in Live View
2) Colleagues can't send messages which deliver and reach your Inbox.
The steps to achieving this are relatively easy. First, have someone from your company chat into Drift. Second, find their conversation from within the Agent inbox view. Third, click the gear icon on the top right of the screen and choose "Block this user." You will need to confirm that you want to block them.
If you start the conversation from Live View, the gear icon will not appear unless the site visitor responds to the chat.
Unblocking is the exact same process, but you will need to revisit the old original conversation where you blocked them as they will no longer be able to chat in from that IP address.
For more information about blocking users in general, visit this guide.
Even if you choose to block your company's IP, they will still be able to see the Drift chat widget and playbooks. If you want to prevent them from seeing Drift at all, then you will need to use Display conditions to exclude the IP address in Targeting.
Note: Excluding the IP address in Targeting is a feature on our paid plans.